

## **RESOLUTION REGARDING HOME RULE**

WHEREAS: The State of Georgia Constitution grants the State sole authority to define district

boundary maps (Paragraph VI. Special districts, subparagraph c); and

WHEREAS: Cobb Board of Commissioner members Lisa Cupid (Chair), Monique Sheffield, and

Jerica Richardson have illegally voted to ignore the state law passed by the Georgia General Assembly and signed by the Governor regarding redistricting by

declaring "home rule"; and

WHEREAS: Lisa Cupid, Monique Sheffield, and Jerica Richardson of the Cobb County Board of

Commissioners have broken their oath of office by not upholding the Georgia Constitution and by declaring "home rule" to utilize a new district map designed

by these members of the Cobb Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS: JoAnn Birrell and Keli Gambrill of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners have

argued and fought back against this illegal use of "home rule" and in so doing have

also defended the Georgia Constitution and State law.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Georgia Constitution and the redistricting map passed by the Georgia State Assembly and signed by Governor Kemp must be accepted by the entire Cobb County Board of Commissioners; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Lisa Cupid, Monique Sheffield, and Jerica Richardson of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners must immediately honor their oath of office and recommit themselves to obeying the Georgia Constitution and the laws of the state of Georgia or immediately resign from the Board; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Cobb GOP and all elected officials including local, county, and statewide need to defend the citizens of Cobb County by demanding that the Cobb Board of Commissioners cease this attempt to usurp the Georgia State Constitution in regards to redistricting; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, All votes cast by the Cobb County Board of Commissioners since January 1, 2023 need to be reviewed for legality; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Cobb County Commissioners JoAnn Birrell and Keli Gambrill are especially commended for their courage and for honoring their oath of office by defending the Georgia Constitution.

Passed at the Cobb County Convention, March 11, 2023

Cobb GOP Secretary